About our Scout Group

Welcome to the Mount Rogers Scout Group.

Our Group is located in the suburb of Charnwood in the Australian Capital Territory. We cover the suburbs of Charnwood, Flynn, Dunlop and the Kippax/West Belconnen area. However families from outside these suburbs are most welcome to join us.

History of the Group

Mt Rogers started on 6 March 1974 with its first Pack meeting of 12 boys. It was held in the Melba Primary School hall and run by Gillian Thompson. On 17 April 1974, the first Scout Troop meeting was held with Trevor Whittle as Leader. The beginning of 1975 saw the start of our second Pack under the leadership of Mike Hickey, and Mike remains our cub leader to this day.

The Group moved into the Lower Charnwood Shop on 13 October 1976. The foundation stone for the current hall was laid in Saturday 27 October 1979.

On Saturday 8 March 1980, the Bob Keen Memorial Scout Hall was opened next to the Charnwood shopping centre. It is named after the late Bob Keen who had a big hand in helping the Group to reach its goal of getting its own hall in such a short time. He was the Group President from 1975 to mid 1976, and Group Leader from mid 1976 until he passed away in June 1977 at the age of 43.

Our Venturer Unit originally commenced in June 1979 under the leadership of Norm Crook. It was on 18 October 1988 that the first Joey meeting took place. In May 1991 girls were accepted into all sections of our Group.